Trophée Bailli de Suffren

Marina di Valletta will be welcoming the Trophee Bailli de Suffren fleet between  the 4th and 5th July.

The famed Trophee Bailli de Suffren Race  is 580-nautical mile race, which starts in Saint Tropez and includes stop overs in Porto Rotondo, Trapani, and finally the Maltese islands.   For the second time in the race’s’ history, the race finish will be in Gozo.

Competing yachts are generally divided into three categories – Vintage, Classic, and Spirit of Tradition.

Named after Pierre Andre de Suffren, who was Vice Admiral of the French fleet and a Knight of Malta, the title of Bailli was given by the Order of Malta. De Suffren was known by his sailors and his enemies (particularly the British) as ‘Admiral Satan’. To date, seven ships of the French navy have borne the name of Suffren in his honour. His statue dominates the quayside in Saint Tropez.

The Trophée Bailli de Suffren will leave Gozo for a Parade of Sail on the 4th July when it will berth at Marina di Valletta.

A Prize Giving evening will then take place at the Royal Malta Yacht Club.